UBE Foundation Announces 45th Research Grant Awardees for 2004

March 28, 2005

TOKYO, March 28, 2005-- The UBE Foundation (Chairperson: Kazumasa Tsunemi) has selected four applicants who will receive a total of four million yen in research grants as part of The UBE Foundation's 2004 annual research grant program, which is currently in its 45th year. The successful awardees were selected out of a pool of 70 grant applications by the Foundation's selection committee on March 15, 2004. The committee is chaired by Professor Masanobu Hidai of the Faculty of Industrial Science and Technology, Tokyo University of Science.

The UBE Foundation carries on the tradition established by the Watanabe Memorial Science Foundation, which was originally created in 1959 under the direction of the first chairperson of Ube Industries, Ltd., in the interest of promoting science. The Watanabe Memorial Science Foundation was renamed The UBE Foundation in 1998 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Ube Industries. The goal of The UBE Foundation is to promote scientific research in Japan, and to contribute to the advancement of science and culture through the support of research facilities and individuals involved in scientific research.

A formal presentation is scheduled for April 25, 2005 at the Ube Industries Building in Ube City, Yamaguchi Prefecture, Japan.

2004 Research Grant and The Watanabe Memorial Award Winners

Research Grant Awardees

Name Position Age Research Topic Grant
Yukio Tanizawa Professor, Graduate School of Medicine, Yamaguchi University 46 Determination of Compensatory Rupture Mechanism for Insulin Resistance of Pancreatic B-Cell 1 million yen
Masahiro Murakami Professor, Graduate School of Engineering, Kyoto University 48 Development of New Peptide Supported Carbene Complex Refrigerant 1 million yen
Naoyuki Harada Assistant Professor, Faculty of Engineering, Yamaguchi University 41 Basic Research on Superconducting Rectifying Device Realized Using Micromachining Technology 1 million yen

Watanabe Memorial Award

Name Position Age Research Topic Grant
Hidemasa Oh Associate Professor, Department of Experimental Therapeutics, Translational Research Center, Kyoto University Hospital 38 Establishment of Stem Cell Lines in the Human Heart for Myocardial Cell Regenerative Medicine 1 million yen

About The Watanabe Memorial Award

The Watanabe Memorial Science Foundation changed its name to The UBE Foundation in March 1998. The Watanabe Memorial Award was created by the Foundation as a permanent memorial to its founder and his strong desire to promo-te medical science. Every year, an up-and-coming young medical researcher under the age of 40 is chosen to receive a research grant as part of the Award.


  • Ube Industries, Ltd.
  • Ube Corporate Service Department
  • 1878-96 Kogushi, Ube City, Yamaguchi Pref. 755-8633
  • Phone : +81(836)31-1115